Setting a multilingual market in WordPress Jungle Plugins – Part Two

Hello,

I’m back to you with a new post on my stressing experience of setting a multilingual e-market with WordPress.
Today, I will show you only the result achieved using 3 (yes you read well 3) plugins plus some add on chosen in the free list.

If you have a plenty of money you can buy the so called pro-version ecommerce plugin but you cannot test them before.
Just pay and hope you are blessed it works out of the box, yes of course you can hire a developer to create your site but go back to the 5 minutes installation of WordPress and it’s free philosophy.

We abandon the idea of buying plugin for the moment, I tried the technical support of some plugins making pre-sales questions. Two answered reluctantly to my questions other never replied at all. You can imagine if they don’t care pre-sale inquires what can be afterwards. I don’t tell you the brands just because isn’t my aim.

Above you see the actual “Front Shop” of my test site CLIP SHOP – TRAVEL TIME. To achieve this simple but functional shop I used 3 plugins: EDD (Easy Digital Downloads)qTranslateQtranslate Slug , 1 Theme: Shop Front by sumobi.com and some add on.

In this second post I will start with theme chosen Shop Front by sumobi.com

Responsive Theme – I tested at least 30 themes but for one reason or another they failed to satisfy my needs. The theme I searched had to be first of all Responsive, second it must be simple to update, full customizable, intuitive to be manipulated by a not experienced PHP developer like me and better if it worked out of the box.
I come from Drupal experience and that’s another planet! It’s difficult at first glance to set it and does almost nothing out of the box but if you study a few hours even a non PHP developer can use and modify themes in a matter of minutes, at least this is my humble opinion.

Why I chose Shop Front by sumobi.com?
Simple to explain:
1- it works fine out of the box with the chosen ecommerce plugin EDD
2- It’s responsive
3- easy to set and customize
4- has a plenty of add on to enrich the basic features, mostly free and some that worth the few dollars you pay
5- It has a very very helpful technical support that I shall thank for the quick help.

THEME ANIMATED SELECTION BUTTONS
I like the simple style of this theme Shop Front by sumobi.com, very essential and basic but with a few animation that enthral the user, even my 5 years old daughter liked hovering the product pictures to see the two buttons coming up.

Setting Add On
I scrolled the main page of the theme website and discovered a plenty of add on to be used for free among which I found out the one featuring the front shop striped tent: SHOP FRONT – AWNING . Once you installed it in two clicks you can set a colour among the 3 available (Blue-Red-Green) and if the tent must be fix of scrolling with the page. That’s all.

SETTING AN EASY IMAGE GALLERY

Continuing scrolling the sumobi.com  shop page I found another free add on interesting to enrich my basic product page, it’s called Easy Image Gallery it comes out of the box with 2 different styles: prettyPhoto – fancyBox

Besides the 2 embedded styles you can add your own preferred colorbox just following the few steps explained by the author in the gallery page. The picture above shows the prettyBox style I chose for my gallery animation.

SHOP FRONT – TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Before going on I want to spend two word about the precious support I got from Andrew/sumobi, who in spite of being set in New Zeland, several time zones from Europe, he gave me a quick support to solve the problem.

MORE ADD ON
You can visit the sumobi.com/shop/ to find other add on like promote, colors, contact, style pack, typography and more. I wish you enjoy it.

The picture below shows the simple and clean checkout page which also figures both Test Payment and PayPal payment options.
I will write later about the EDD commerce plugin because just yesterday was released a new version 1.7, fixing some minor problems of compatibility with qTranslate and I need to test it better. In the while you can download and test it, it take a few minutes to set the basic configuration.

I invite you to stay tuned, coming soon the part three with some tips to set a free market particularly fit for digital downloads.

A special thanks to plugins’ authors supported my test site development.

Thank you all for reading. See you soon.

Angelo Giammarresi
filmaker and multimedia producer
www.wocmultimedia.com

This entry was posted in cheap software, ecommerce, graphic tools, HTML 5, multilingual plugin, software and IT utilities, tech support, Uncategorized, wordpress, worpress themes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

